In November 2014, Alaska legalized the production, sale and use of marijuana by adults 21 years of age or older under Ballot Measure 2. The state was an early adopter of medical marijuana, legalizing it in 1998 with the Alaska Medical Marijuana Initiative. However, the state's medical program does not allow for medical dispensaries, and medical patients are largely subject to the same rules as recreational consumers.
Under Alaskan law, individuals 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to one ounce (28 grams) of marijuana. Additionally, adults are allowed to lawfully possess up to six marijuana plants as long as three or fewer are mature and flowering, along with any cannabis produced from those plants (so long as it stays on the same premises). Ballot Measure 2 also specifies that it is legal and lawful to possess marijuana accessories. Medical marijuana patients have the same possession limits as recreational consumers.
The purchasing limit is one ounce of cannabis, meaning adults 21 years of age or older are only able to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana at a time. Though Alaska has a medical marijuana program, it does not have medical dispensaries. Medical patients have the same purchasing limit of one ounce.
To be eligible for the state's medical marijuana program, a person must have on of the following qualifying conditions:
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV),
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including those that are characteristic of epilepsy.
- or persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic or multiple
While the state's medical system closely resembles its recreational system, an important distinction is that medical patients who are not 18 years of age can assign a caregiver to obtain cannabis on their behalf.
Similar to other states where cannabis is recreationally legal, you are not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land. Adults 21 years of age and older are allowed to consume marijuana on private property out of view from the public, or in specially designated marijuana retail stores. Public consumption is strictly banned and offenders found guilty of violating this ban are subject to a fine up to $100. Consumption is also allowed in licensed social lounges.Social Lounges
Driving Under the Influence
Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in Alaska. Similar to alcohol, those found guilty of driving under the influence of cannabis will face DUI charges and penalties. The risks of driving under the influence of marijuana always outweigh the benefits, so be sure to only consume cannabis in a legal manner.
It is legal to transport up to one ounce of marijuana and no more than six marijuana plants. Marijuana must be kept in a child-proof container that is out of reach of the driver. It is not legal to transport an open container of marijuana, even if a passenger is in possession of the open container. Additionally, it is illegal for passengers to consume cannabis in a vehicle as well.
Exporting marijuana across state lines is strictly illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you are caught. It’s best to consume your legal cannabis in a safe and legal manner. If you have extra cannabis, be sure to leave it with a friend or dispose of it accordingly before you travel out of the state.
Adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to cultivate up to six marijuana plants, with no more than three flowering at one time. Marijuana plants must be cultivated in a location where the plants are out of public view. Plants must be secured from unauthorized access and must be cultivated on property that is in lawful possession of the property. These rules are the same for both medical and recreational marijuana consumers. Explore Strains
Alaska does not allow medical or recreational cannabis delivery.
Alaska does not extend reciprocity to medical patients visiting from out of state.