Recreational marijuana dispensaries are open to adults 21 years of age or older. Although no specific purchasing limits are in place, adults may only possess one ounce at a time.
While Alaska voted to legalize medical marijuana, it did not establish a medical dispensary system. There are no medical dispensaries in the state, and the state does not offer reciprocity to out-of-state medical marijuana patients.
How much marijuana can I buy in Alaska?
Under Alaskan law, adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to one ounce (28 grams) of marijuana. While there are not technically limitations on purchases, a dispensary cannot sell more than the amount allowed for possession. Both medical and recreational consumers have a 28-gram limit.
Can I smoke marijuana in public in Alaska?
No, smoking in public is illegal and can result in violations and fines. Marijuana consumption is only allowed on private property, out of view from the general public. Smoking in on-site consumption areas is allowed in if a dispensary has a special permit, though openings have been delayed due to COVID.
Can I grow my own weed in Alaska?
Yes, under Alaskan law, adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to cultivate up to six marijuana plants, with no more than three of them flowering at any given time. The rules apply equally to both medical and recreational consumers.
Is marijuana legal in Alaska?
Yes, medical and recreational marijuana are both legal in Alaska.
Where can I consume cannabis in Alaska?
Under Alaskan law, adults 21 years of age or older are only allowed to consume marijuana on private property out of view from the general public.
Where can I buy cannabis in Alaska?
Adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana from licensed dispensaries. Purchasing marijuana from any place other than a licensed dispensary is illegal and punishable by law.
Can I give cannabis away in Alaska?
Yes, under Ballot Measure 2, adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to transfer up to one ounce of marijuana and up to six marijuana plants to another person who is at least 21 years old, as long as no remuneration is accepted.
Can I bring marijuana from Alaska to other states?
No, exporting marijuana from Alaska to other states is strictly illegal and violators face criminal penalties. It’s never worth the risk to transport marijuana between states, so always consume marijuana within the legal limits.
Are you of legal age for recreational marijuana or hold a valid medical marijuana card?
Sorry, we're unable to provide access to the website.