Vermont Marijuana Laws
Updated on Thursday January 6, 2022
On January 22, 2018, Vermont became the first state to legalize adult use marijuana through legislation rather than a ballot measure. Governor Phil Scott signed H. 511, which legalized recreational consumption, possession and home cultivation of cannabis starting July 1, 2018. The state's passed medicinal marijuana use in 2004 under act 135, An Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness.
While possession and cultivation laws were passed in 2018, legislation for commercial sale and taxation of recreational cannabis was approved later. In October of 2020, S.54, An Act Relating to the Regulation of Cannabis, became law. Gov. Phil Scott declined to sign the bill, but did not veto it, allowing it to pass.
Currently, state officials have established a timeline to open dispensaries in October of 2022. With retail sales still waiting to start, here's what you need to know about Vermont cannabis:
Adults 21 years old and older are allowed to possess up to one ounce of marijuana. Medicinal marijuana patients are allowed to possess up to two ounces of usable cannabis.
Commercial sales of adult-use cannabis have not yet begun in the state, however medical dispensaries are open. In this case, medical patients can purchase up to two ounces of marijuana products. Where to Buy
In order to register with the state's medical marijuana system, you must be diagnosed with one of the following qualifying conditions.
Qualifying conditions include:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Crohn's disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson's disease
- Patients receiving hospice care
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe nausea
As well as any other “life threatening, progressive and debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces severe, persistent and intractable symptoms.” Get Your Card
Laws limit Vermont cannabis consumption to residential homes and dwellings. Landlords can ban use in their units as well. Additionally, cannabis cannot be consumed at community or federal grounds, owned grounds, child care facilities or public places including hotels, restaurants and places of business.
Driving Under the Influence
Driving under the influence or while impaired remains the same as it has under alcohol consumption. No driver or passenger is allowed to consume cannabis in a vehicle, with open container fines costing the offender $200.
Licensed and legal citizens can transport up to an ounce of cannabis (two for medical patients) in a sealed container. Caregivers can transport medicinal marijuana to a patient in “a timely manner” as detailed in the state law.
Exporting cannabis across state lines remains a federal offense and is therefore strictly illegal.
Vermont does not offer medical reciprocity to cardholders from out-of-state.
Medical marijuana patients can grow up to two mature and seven immature cannabis plants. Meanwhile, Vermont cannabis cultivation is allowed for adult use at any home with the property owner’s consent.
Adults are allowed to possess two mature marijuana plants and four immature plants per house or housing unit.
The cultivator must place their plants in a secure enclosure away from public view. Furthermore, cultivated cannabis will not count against a person's one-ounce possession restriction if reasonable precautions are taken to protect the cannabis from others. Additionally, the marijuana will not count against a person's possession total if stored at its growing location. Learn to Grow
Neither medical nor recreational cannabis deliver is allowed in Vermont.