Medical marijuana is not yet legal in Mississippi, but is close. Senate Bill 2095 is currently under review by the state legislature.
Although voters approved medical marijuana in November of 2020 by passing Initiative 65, and the ballot measure passed with 67.9% approval, the state's Supreme Court invalidated the legislation due to a technicality.
Mississippi uses a system of Mississippi Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units ("MMCEU"). Possession limits are still being set at this time.
One unit of MMCEU is considered equal to:
- Three and one-half (3.5) grams of medical cannabis flower;
- One (1) gram of medical cannabis concentrate; or
- One hundred (100) milligrams of THC in an infused product.
The law notes that there is, "not be a possession limit on nonconsumable medical cannabis, including, but not limited to, suppositories, ointments, soaps, and lotions or other topical agents."
Purchasing limits are still being set.
Consumption of medical cannabis is not allowed in any public place, or in a motor vehicle.
Driving Under the Influence
Mississippi’s medical marijuana laws do not allow a person to operate any motor vehicle, aircraft, train, or boat while consuming or impaired by medical marijuana. The state would treat this at any other substance impairment.
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Marijuana in Mississippi
- Qualifying conditions include:
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Alzheimer's disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn's disease
- Agitation of Dementia
- Diabetic/peripheral neuropathy
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
- Huntington's disease
- Muscular dystrophy
- Pain refractory to appropriate opioid management
- Parkinson's disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Ulcerative colitis
- Sickle-cell anemia
- Spastic quadriplegia
- Spinal cord disease or severe injury
Or the treatment of these conditions;
- A chronic, terminal or debilitating disease or medical condition, or its treatment, that produces one or more of the following:
- cachexia or wasting syndrome
- chronic pain
- severe or intractable nausea
- or severe and persistent muscle spasms, including, but not limited to, those characteristic of multiple sclerosis;
Mississippi expects to extend reciprocity to cardholders from out-of-state, but only under specific conditions:
A nonresident may apply to receive a nonresident registry identification card up to thirty (30) days before arriving in Mississippi. A nonresident registry identification card is valid for fifteen (15) days, and the application can be renewed after that 15-day period ( or applied for again at another time in the year). However, no more than two fifteen-day periods can be granted in 365 days.
Where to Get Medical Marijuana In Mississippi
Dispensaries are not yet open.
State laws do not allow for home cultivation of marijuana.
Mississippi does not allow for sales via "a drive-through, curbside delivery or other delivery outside the premises of the dispensary."