Minnesota ushered in its medical marijuana program in May 2014 on the authorization of Governor Mark Dayton and the passing of Senate Bill 2470. The initial bill included nine medical conditions. At the time, the cannabis laws in Minnesota were considered the most restrictive in the nation. They have since been eclipsed by other states like New York's initial launch, as well as Texas' which currently permits one medical condition.
Cannabis for recreational purposes (or adult-use) is illegal in Minnesota, though possession of 42.5 grams or less has been decriminalized. Possession or sale under that amount is misdemeanor with no potential jail time and a maximum fine of $200. However, possession or sale of any amount over 42.5 grams is a felony, and is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Under SF 2470, patients are allowed to possess up to a 30-day supply of non-smokable medicinal cannabis products.
Qualified patients can buy their medicine at registered locations across the state, generally located in the southeastern portion of the state. At the Cannabis Patient Center, patients will have their practitioner appointment summary and the list of their currently prescribed medications reviewed by an on-site licensed pharmacist. From there, they will provide you a customized dosage recommendation. Where to Buy
To qualify for medical cannabis in Minnesota, you must have one or more of the conditions below:
Qualifying Medical Conditions:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cancer associated with severe/chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia or severe wasting
- Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
- Intractable pain
- Obstructive Sleep Apnea
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Seizures, including those characteristic of Epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of Multiple Sclerosis
- Terminal Illness, with a probable life expectancy of less than one year*
- Tourette Syndrome
Starting August of 2020 two additional conditions will be recognized:
Additional Conditions (Starting 8/2020)
- Age-related Macular Degeneration
- Chronic Pain
Qualified patients enrolled in Minnesota's medical marijuana program are allowed to consume cannabis in the form of pills, oils and liquids. No flower or edibles are allowed under the current laws. Starting August of 2020, these forms will be expanded to include water-soluble cannabinoid multi-particulates (dissolvable powders, etc.) and orally dissolvable products such as lozenges, mints and sublingual tablets.
It is illegal for medical marijuana patients to consume cannabis on:
Prohibited Consumption Areas:
- Any public place
- A school bus or van
- School grounds
- Correctional facilities
- Childcare or daycare facilities
Driving Under the Influence
Minnesota's per se drugged driving laws exclude cannabis and cannabis metabolites. However, driving while using medical marijuana is heavily discouraged as their normal DUI restrictions do not allow for the use of controlled substances while driving. You can still face serious consequences for driving high in Minnesota, even if you’re a medical marijuana patient.
Parents, legal guardians, spouses and caregivers may give patients assistance with medical cannabis. If the patient wants to name caregiver(s) to assist in obtaining or administering medical cannabis, the patient should ask the health care practitioner to allow them to add a caregiver during the certification process. Parents and legal guardians of the patient may act as a caregiver for the patient without going through the caregiver approval process. However, parents, legal guardians, and spouses must upload proof of their relationship to the patient, before they can be designated are a caregiver. For more information on becoming a caregiver in Minnesota, check the state’s registry page.
Patients and/or one or more their allowed caregivers can transport the patient's medical cannabis.
Reciprocity is not allowed in Minnesota and the state does not currently recognize any out of state cards or licenses. Patients must be residents, and be approved in-state to participate in the program legally.
Home marijuana cultivation is not allowed. Only state-approved labs are approved to cultivate Minnesota's medical cannabis supply.
Minnesota does not allow for cannabis delivery of any kind.