Wednesday May 19, 2021
Updated on 6/2/2021
Medical marijuana became legal in Missouri with the passing of Amendment 2 in November of 2018. Following an initial slow start, the program was further delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Now, after much anticipation, Missouri’s Medical Cannabis program is up and running. The state’s historic first sale of medical marijuana took place in March of 2020.
Recreational marijuana remains illegal in the state, however, the nascent medical industry is rapidly expanding. Thanks to telemedicine, obtaining a medical marijuana card is fast and easy for those with a qualifying condition. Simply make an appointment, have your consultation, get approved, and register with the state. Once your card arrives, you’re good to go!
Get Your Missouri Medical Marijuana Card Online
To get your Missouri medical ID card, follow these simple steps:
- Connect with a telemedicine provider or licensed AR physician.
- Get approved and submit your application to the state.
- The card will be processed within 30 days.
- Shop at a Missouri dispensary!
Patients that are under the age of 18 will also need to complete and submit a Parent/Legal Guardian Consent Form with their application.
How Much Does a Missouri Medical Marijuana Card Cost?
To apply as a patient or caregiver, there is a fee of $25.94. If you wish to grow at home, you will need to apply for a Patient Cultivator License, which has a fee of $103.73. A telemedicine physician's consultation with has a cost of roughly $199.
What Documents Do I Need for the Appointment?
For your appointment with a doctor for consultation, you’ll want to have readied any documents relevant to your medical history showing that you qualify for an accepted condition, as well as a state-issued ID.
When applying with the state, you’ll need to gather your qualifying patient information, physician information, physician attestation, and agreement (this can be completed by your ph, and physician signature and date.
How Long Does the Process Take?
Your physician’s consultation will typically take 10-15 minutes. The Missouri Department of Health and Human Services has 30 days to process your application. You can track the progress of your application using the state’s application system.
Applying to Become a Medical Marijuana Patient:
The application process can be broken into 3 major steps:
1. Physician Certification Form
Applicants must visit a Missouri-licensed physician, who is active and in good standing to practice medicine(MD) or osteopathy (DO) pursuant to Missouri law, to obtain a physician certification form (PCF). This can be completed online via telemedicine as well. This visit will typically have a fee associated with it.
To prepare for your visit, gather any medical information or records pertinent to your qualifying condition. This is typically only needed for certain conditions, and you can always ask your consulting physician what might be needed. You will also need a valid state ID (such as a driver’s license).
After meeting with your physician, you’ll be provided with a copy of the PCF. Save this for later, as you’ll need it to complete your registration.
After receiving a physician certification form, you’ll need to create an account and register with the state via their online portal. Instructions and links for applying can be found through the Missouri Department of Health and Human Services website.
There, you’ll also find an application checklist and user guide for the patient registry as well. Follow the steps through the online portal and upload all relevant documents. You’ll need a photo for your ID as well, which can also be uploaded through the web system.
Once you’ve completed the registration, you can submit an application by logging into the Complia portal, clicking “+Create Application” and “New Patient Registration”.
The state provides a helpful tutorial on how to upload your documentation should you have any issues in uploading your physician’s certification form, as well.
Which Conditions can Qualify for a Missouri Medical Cannabis Certificate & Card?
Qualifying Health Conditions Include:
- A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome
- A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
- A terminal illness
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress order, if diagnosed by a state-licensed psychiatrist
- Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
Is Registering with the Missouri Department of Health Necessary?
Yes. Recreational cannabis is illegal in Missouri, so you will need to be a registered patient with the state in order to shop at a Medical Marijuana dispensary in Missouri.
What are the Medical Marijuana Possession Limits in Missouri?
Standard patients may possess up to four (4) ounces per month. Patients requiring more than the standard four (4) ounces should use must submit the Alternative Physician Certification Form, and are required to submit two of these forms, completed by two different physicians, with the same qualifying medical condition selected on both forms. If the physicians’ recommended amounts listed on the forms are inconsistent, the patient will be allowed the lesser of those two amounts.
Can I Grow Cannabis as a Medical Marijuana Patient in Missouri?
Yes, but only upon receipt of a patient cultivation identification card. There is an additional $100 fee to grow up to six flowering plants per patient and security regulations that must be followed. When applying for the license you will need to provide a description of the grow facility and what plans are in place to meet regulation requirements.
Unfortunately, there Missouri does not allow for medical marijuana patient reciprocity in any way at this time.