How much marijuana can I buy in Maine?
Under Maine’s recreational marijuana law, adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana from a dispensary, with no more than 5 grams being in concentrate form.
Can I smoke marijuana in public in Maine?
No. Consuming cannabis in public is illegal and punishable by fine. You may only consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public.
Can I grow my own weed in Maine?
Yes you may. Adults 21 years of age or older are able to cultivate up to 3 flowering marijuana plants at a time, so long as they are tagged and grown within a private residence occupied by the grower. Medical marijuana patients may cultivate up to 6 plants and 12 immature plants.
Is marijuana legal in Maine?
Yes it is! Recreational marijuana and medical marijuana are both legal in Maine.
Where can I consume cannabis in Maine?
You may only consume cannabis on private property that is not viewable or accessible by the public.
Where can I buy cannabis in Maine?
Both medical and recreational dispensaries are now open in Maine. Recreational marijuana sales began on October 9, 2020.
Can I give cannabis away in Maine?
Yes you may. It is legal for adults 21 years of age or older to transfer up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana to another adult 21 years of age or older, so long as no remuneration is accepted for the transfer.
Can I bring marijuana from Maine to other states?
No you may not. Exporting cannabis is illegal in Maine and can land you in prison. It’s best to enjoy marijuana lawfully, so be wise and don’t stir up any trouble.