Is medical marijuana legal in Ohio?
Medical marijuana is legal under Ohio's House Bill 523. Medical dispensaries are open as of 2019.
What conditions are qualified to be covered under the law?
At this time, patients in Ohio can qualify with one or more of the following medical conditions:
Qualifying Medical Marijuana Conditions:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE)
- Crohn’s disease
- Epilepsy or another seizure disorder
- Hepatitis C
- Bowel disease
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable
- Parkinson’s disease
- Positive status for HIV
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle cell anemia
- Spinal cord disease or injury
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Traumatic brain injury
- Ulcerative colitis
Can additional conditions be petitioned for inclusion on the list?
Yes, Ohio residents patients can petition for additional conditions to be added to the medical marijuana list. For more information, visit the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program.
Do I need to be 18 years old to obtain my medical marijuana card in Ohio?
Yes, minors are allowed to obtain a medical cannabis license from a certified physician after being granted permission by a parent or guardian. The patient's registration must be accompanied by a caregiver registration as well.
Will my information be made public if I register?
No, patients are protected under state privacy laws. These regulations prohibit the Board of Pharmacy and state-approved dispensaries from making any patient information available to the public. The only people able to verify a patient's information will be their designated physician or caregiver.
Where can I buy medical marijuana in Ohio?
Patients are only allowed to purchase their cannabis at state-approved dispensaries.
How much medical marijuana can I purchase in Ohio?
Patients can purchase up to a 90-day supply over a 90-day period. They can purchase a combination of oils, tinctures, plant material, edibles and patches.
Can a cardholder cultivate their own medical marijuana in Ohio?
No, only state-approved cultivators can grow cannabis for medical use. No other medical marijuana cultivation will be allowed, meaning at-home cultivation is prohibited.
How can I become a caregiver in Ohio?
To become a caregiver in Ohio, an applicant must be 21 years old or over. They can serve up to two patients at a time unless granted an exception by the state Board of Pharmacy.
I am from out of state, will Ohio honor my medical marijuana card?
Ohio does not currently offer reciprocity to out-of-state cardholders. There is a possibility for this to change in the future, as state regulations call for negotiating such exchanges with other states, but movement on the issue has not yet taken place.