General Questions

As of November 8th, 2016, both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Nevada. Individuals will need to be 21 years of age and older in order to purchase from recreational dispensaries. You must have a medical marijuana card to purchase and possess cannabis from a medical dispensary.

The people of Nevada voted to legalize recreational marijuana on the ballot on November 8th, 2016. The Nevada Marijuana Legalization Initiative passed, al individuals 21 years and older will be allowed to purchase legal cannabis. These new marijuana laws will take effect as of January 1, 2017, two months after the November vote.

Yes, a non-resident can get their medical marijuana card. Additionally, people with out-of-state medical cards are granted reciprocity in Nevada, but they must follow Nevada’s rules regarding how much an individual is allowed to possess, regardless of how much he or she is allowed to possess in their home state.

Additionally, he or she must abide by the following restrictions:

  • The non-resident has a valid, non-expired medical marijuana card from his or her home state
  • The non-resident’s home state exempts cardholders from criminal prosecution for medical marijuana use
  • The law of the non-resident’s home state requires that physicians advise patients that medical marijuana use may help their symptoms as a precondition to the state issuing patients a medical marijuana card
  • The non-resident’s home state maintains a database through which Nevada authorities may verify his or her card’s validity (NRS 372A)

Recreational and medical marijuana dispensaries are now open in Nevada. Visit our Nevada dispensary directory to see the full list.

Yes, but only if you have a medical card. Because recreational marijuana was legalized in November 2016, any form of valid government-issued ID showing that an individual is 21 years and older will work in 2017.

With a Nevada issued medical card, an individual can possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis. Note that without a card, a resident or non-resident can be punished by a maximum of $600 and a potential drug screening. Recreational consumers are able to purchase up to 1 oz of flower or up to 1/8th oz of concentrate at one time.

There are a variety of flower strains (buds) available in Nevada, a similar selection to what you'll find in Colorado or California.

Stores also carry concentrates and essential oils, edibles, seeds, clones (seedlings), topical creams, lotions and massage oils.

Typically, flower will cost between $10-$30 for a gram. Note that strains with higher levels of THC will mostly likely be more expensive. Edibles will range from $15-$30 per 80-100mg package.

Similar to other states with medical and/or legalized marijuana, one can only consume cannabis in private. Nevada tends to be very strict with these rules, so please consume with discretion.

advertisement