Is medical marijuana legal in Mississippi?

Mississippi legalized medical marijuana on November 3, 2020, with Initiative 65. Voters rejected Initiative 65A, a more restrictive, but similar legislation that was coupled with 65 on the ballot. The state Department of Health, who will oversee the program, is yet to issue larger guidelines, but must do so by July 1, 2021.

Is recreational marijuana legal in Mississippi?

Only medical marijuana is legal in Mississippi. The state aims to issue business licenses and patient ID cards by August 15, 2021. Small amounts of cannabis are decriminalized (up to 30 grams), punishable by a $250 fine. It is possible to receive up to 90 days of incarceration, but typically not enforced beyond a fine.

How can I get my medical marijuana card in Mississippi?

In order to qualify for medical marijuana in Mississippi, a person must be a resident of the state, provide a state I.D., pay a $50 fee, and obtain a physician’s recommendation for a qualifying condition. Please refer to the Mississippi legal page for a complete list of qualifying conditions.

Where can I buy medical marijuana in Mississippi?

Currently, no dispensaries are open at this time. Dispensaries are expected in late 2021.

How much marijuana can I possess at one time in Mississippi?

Up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana. The state has not yet set equivalencies between marijuana preparations, such as concentrates and edibles.

Where can I smoke marijuana in Mississippi?

Marijuana can only be consumed on private property, or as I-65 states, “It is unlawful for any person to smoke medical marijuana in a public place,” and is also punishable by a fine of up to $100.

Can I get a DUI for using marijuana in Mississippi?

Yes. The new law does not allow a person to operate any motor vehicle, aircraft, train, or boat while consuming or impaired by medical marijuana.

Can I get fired for using marijuana in Mississippi?

Yes. State regulations do not require an employer to accommodate medical marijuana patients.

Can I possess a gun and use medical marijuana in Mississippi?

As with other states with legalized cannabis of any kind, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to possess a gun or ammunition thanks to the federal Gun Control Act of 1968. Although this is a dated initiative, there have been no cases of users being prosecuted for owning a gun and being a medical marijuana patient.

Product Reviews

Featured Brands