Is medical marijuana legal in Louisiana?
Yes. The state has a long history with medical marijuana dating back to 1978, technically built upon by additional legislation in 1991 and 2015. Problems with each subsequent attempt were finally addressed in 2016 with SB271, though dispensaries did not open for another 3 years. The first medical marijuana dispensary opened in August of 2019. Though smokable cannabis was initially banned, it is now allowed under HB391.
Is recreational cannabis legal in Louisiana?
No, though it was decriminalized statewide in 2015 to a $300 fine and/or 15 days in jail. Possession of marijuana has also been decriminalized in the cities of New Orleans and Baton Rouge.
How do I qualify for a medical cannabis license?
Patients must visit a doctor approved by the state to give recommendations for medical marijuana. Only doctors who have gone through the approval process will be able to give recommendations. Please visit PotGuide’s Louisiana legal page under “Qualifying Patients” to view the full list of qualifying conditions.
Do I need to be 18 years old to have a medical marijuana license?
No, patients under the age of 18 are allowed to apply for the state’s medical marijuana program with a parent or guardian. If approved, that parent or guardian may act as a caregiver to the minor, and will be granted protection from prosecution so long as they operate within state guidelines
Where can I legally buy cannabis in Louisiana?
The state has approved 9 dispensary locations and two suppliers. You can find a list of open dispensaries on the Louisiana dispensary page. Cannabis can only be obtained from a state-licensed dispensary.
How much medical cannabis can I buy in Louisiana?
Patients can possess up to a 30-day supply of medicinal marijuana. The amount of cannabis products constitutes a 30-day supply is decided by the recommending physician.
Can I grow my own medical cannabis in Louisiana?
No. Louisiana’s medical cannabis program does not allow home cultivation.
Will insurance pay for the cost of my medical cannabis?
No, insurance providers are not required to cover the costs of your medicine due to cannabis’ current status as a schedule 1 substance under federal law.
Can I buy medical cannabis for a friend in Louisiana?
Only parents and guardians of medical cannabis patients may purchase cannabis for medical underage medical patients. Medical cannabis cannot be transferred between people for any other reason in Louisiana.
I’m from out of state; will Louisiana honor my medical marijuana card?
To date, Louisiana has not approved any allowances for other states to participate in its medical cannabis program.