Nevada
Nevada

Medical marijuana was legalized in Nevada in 2000, but it took 15 years for dispensaries to open. In November 2016, Question 2 passed allowing for the use of recreational marijuana as of January 1, 2017. Currently, any adult of 21 years or older (with a valid government issued ID) can purchase from a licensed recreational dispensary in Nevada.

If you’re suffering from a debilitating condition, you should have full, legal access to medical cannabis in Nevada. Thankfully, the application process to become a medical marijuana patient in Nevada has never been easier – for both residents and non-residents alike.

Process to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada:

As we mentioned, the fastest option is to receive a doctor’s recommendation through a qualified company with access to doctors around the country. Remember that you must prove residency in Nevada to qualify.

At the end of the day, an individual must be enrolled into the Nevada medical marijuana registry in order to legally purchase medical marijuana from a dispensary.

To do so, one must:

  • Have a qualifying chronic health condition

  • Complete an application through the State of Nevada

  • Find a doctor who can provide a recommendation

  • Complete medical marijuana application and send to the Division of Health

  • Get your medical marijuana card in the mail (or at the DMV)

Age Restrictions:

Both minors and adults alike are legally allowed to apply for a medical marijuana card. Minors who are 10 years of age or older must have a custodial parent or legal guardian sign and submit a “minor release” with the application, effectively becoming the minor’s primary caretaker.  

Adults simply need to be 21 years of age or older.

Qualifying Health Conditions:

Patients who have been diagnosed with a chronic, debilitating or life-threatening medical condition are protected under the Nevada Medical Marijuana law (unless you have a drug-related felony on your record).

Such medical conditions include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • HIV/AIDS

  • Cancer

  • PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder)

  • Consistent seizures or muscle spasms

  • Severe pain

  • Severe nausea

  • Cachexia

  • Glaucoma

Applying to Become a Medical Marijuana Patient in Nevada:

If you have a qualifying health condition, then you can fill out an application form by either writing a request to the Nevada State Health Division or by using the Nevada Medical Marijuana Cardholder registry online. Currently, there is no charge to register.

Next, you’ll need to fill out an application request form or a caregiver application if you or a minor need a primary caregiver. As per the Nevada State Health Division, such application requests cost $25.

Find a Doctor:

You’ll need a recommendation from a licensed physician in order to complete the medical marijuana card application process. The recommendation should clearly outline that you’ve been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition and the use of marijuana could help with the health issue at hand.

Complete Application:

Once you’ve completed the application, including uploading a copy of your driver’s license (or government issued ID) and a doctor’s formal recommendation, you’ll need to submit it to the Division of Health.

TIP: If you complete the application online, the letter of approval will be delivered as soon as 24 hours after submission. Make a copy of your application for your records before submitting.

Get Your Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada:

If approved, you’ll receive your medical marijuana card in the mail. In the meantime, simply print the “letter for use” document to prove your medical marijuana patient status and purchase products at any licensed medical marijuana dispensary in Nevada.

TIP: Your Nevada medical marijuana card is only valid for one year. As a result, you must renew the card online near its expiration, which includes a $75 registration fee.

Reciprocity in Nevada:

Thankfully, Nevada is one of the few states that accept medical marijuana cardholders from other states. If you’re traveling to Nevada with an out-of-state MMJ card, you’ll need to ensure that it’s valid (not expired) and you’re successfully registered in a state database of users.