The Use of Marijuana for Debilitating Medical Conditions ballot, or Amendment 2, was passed by Florida voters on November 8, 2016. Allowing the cultivation and dispensing of medical marijuana to qualified patients, the ballot was created to provide safe access and availability to medical cannabis for those in need with qualified debilitating conditions. Now, Florida is enjoying a prosperous medical marijuana market with many patients signed up for the program.
If you’re interested in signing up for Florida’s medical marijuana program, the easiest way to do so is by connecting with a licensed physician network. Leafwell is one of the largest medical marijuana facilitators, connecting patients to licensed physicians in minutes. Follow along below to find out how you can easily get your medical marijuana card in Florida online.
Get Your Florida Medical Marijuana Card Online with Leafwell
Since the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, Florida has made it possible to renew medical marijuana certifications and cards online via telemedicine. It’s now easier than ever to get a Florida medical marijuana card. All you have to do is:
- Register online with Leafwell and speak to a Florida licensed physician.
- Get approved and receive your doctor's certificate in minutes.
- Submit your renewal application on the State website as soon as 40 days before expiration.
- Continue to shop at any Florida licensed dispensary.
Since March 18th, 2020, Florida has expanded its provision of medical marijuana telemedicine in order to make social distancing amongst the Coronavirus pandemic easier to maintain. This includes online medical marijuana qualifications in Florida for both new patients and renewals.
You must be 18 years of age or older in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card in Florida. Once approved, your physician’s cannabis certification is valid for 30 weeks.
How much does a Florida medical marijuana card cost?
$75 for the application fee and Florida medical marijuana card. There is a $2.75 processing fee. The physician's fee is $149, and this is separate from the application fee. All totaled, the fee for a medical marijuana card in Florida is $226.75.
Is registry to the Florida OMMU Registry mandatory?
Yes, it is mandatory to register to the Florida Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU). Click here to register online.
What documents do I need for the appointment?
Necessary Documentation for Medical Marijuana:
- Valid ID from the state of Florida. Driver’s license, passport or state-produced ID card – patients must be a resident or seasonal resident of Florida
- Proof of address – bank statement, utility bill, correspondence with a state department
- Medical records – medication list, physician's diagnosis, treatment plan, progress notes, radiology/MRI/X-ray image, lab test results. Medical records are no longer mandatory, but can help your application
What does having a Florida medical marijuana card get me?
What Can I Do with a Florida MMJ Card?
- The ability to use cannabis on your own property for medical reasons without fear of arrest & prosecution under the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act – you have a valid defense
- The ability to purchase in one of Florida’s medical marijuana dispensaries
- 30 weeks’ physician’s certification
How long does the Florida MMJ qualification process take?
It takes about 5 days for an application to be processed. Once qualified, you will receive a temporary card, which can be used to purchase medical marijuana at licensed dispensaries. The physical copy of your Florida medical marijuana card takes an additional 5 days. Therefore, the whole process takes a total of about 10 days.
Which conditions can qualify for a Florida medical cannabis certificate & card?
If you suffer from one or more of the following health problems, you may qualify for a medical cannabis card in Florida:
- AIDS (Positive Status)
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s Disease
- HIV (Positive Status)
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Terminal Condition that is diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification
- Chronic Pain (Nonmalignant) caused by a qualifying medical condition or that originates from a qualifying medical condition and persists beyond the usual course of that qualifying medical condition
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those above
What are the medical marijuana possession limits in Florida?
A qualified physician may order up to six 35-day supplies of smokable medical marijuana. A 35-day order may not exceed 2.5 ounces. Patients may only possess up to 4 ounces of medical marijuana in a form for smoking at any given time.
There is a limit of 10% THC on medical marijuana products. Many products will have a limit of 0.8% THC, and a minimum of 10% CBD. Your physician will determine if smokable cannabis is appropriate for you and your condition.
What about caregivers in Florida?
It is legal for a medical marijuana patient to have a caregiver in Florida. Caregivers must be aged 21 or over. Caregivers fill out their own application forms and must be listed on the patient’s application form as well. Caregivers and patients must renew their physician’s recommendation/certification 45 days prior to the card expiration date.
Can I grow cannabis in Florida?
No, patients cannot legally cultivate cannabis in the state of Florida, even if they qualify for a medical marijuana card.
Can I see Florida’s medical marijuana laws in more detail?
Can I get fired for consuming medical marijuana in Florida?
Florida employers are not mandated to accommodate medical marijuana patients. Employers are allowed to “establish, continue or enforce a drug-free policy” under 2016 Florida Amendment 2 and Florida’s Drug-Free Workplace rules.
Some employers may sympathize with medical cannabis users suffering from a serious condition, so it is certainly worth a qualifying patient having a medical marijuana card if they seek some state protections.
Can I own guns when I obtain a medical cannabis card?
Medical marijuana patients may waive their second amendment rights.