Connecticut
Connecticut

Medical marijuana became legal in Connecticut in 2012 due to an Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana (HB 5389). Although some items have been added to the legislation, Connecticut remains one of the more limited states with MMJ laws.  

Patients will need to obtain a medical marijuana card issued by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection in order to buy or possess product. By doing so, patients will be allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces per month. Note that home cultivation is not allowed.

Process to become a medical marijuana patient in Connecticut

See below for a general breakdown on how to complete the process:

  • Have a qualifying chronic health condition

  • Find a doctor who can provide a recommendation

  • Complete a medical marijuana application with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection

  • Show government-issued ID and proof of residency

  • Patients must receive a doctor’s recommendation to apply for a medical marijuana card in order to purchase or possess marijuana.

Age Restrictions

Adults must be 18 years of age or older, and a Connecticut resident to apply. As of October 2016, those under 18 need permission from a parent or guardian, plus two physicians. Minors must have one of the following conditions: terminal illness requiring end-of-life care, cystic fibrosis, cerebral palsy, severe epilepsy or uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder, irreversible spinal cord injury.

Qualifying Health Conditions

Patients in Connecticut must have a chronic or debilitating condition or disease that has not responded well with previous treatments. Eligible conditions include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

  • Cachexia

  • Cancer

  • Cerebral palsy

  • Complex regional pain syndrome

  • Crohn’s Disease

  • Cystic fibrosis

  • Epilepsy

  • Glaucoma

  • HIV/AIDS

  • Multiple Sclerosis

  • Nervous tissue damage (spinal cord)

  • Parkinson’s Disease

  • Post-laminectomy syndrome

  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

  • Psoriatic arthritis

  • Severe psoriasis

  • Sickle cell disease

  • Terminal illness, requiring end-of-life care

  • Ulcerative colitis

  • Wasting syndrome

Applying to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut

The registration certificate application is online. You’ll need to follow the following three steps to complete the process. Note that there is a fee of $100 associated with the registration.

  1. Your physician must initiate registration online by submitting a valid certification for the patient through the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
  2. Afterwards, the patient will have access to the online system where the patient portion of the application must be completed
  3. If your physician denotes the need for a primary caregiver, they must log in after the patient to complete their section of the application
  4. Be sure to make a copy of your application for your records before submitting.

Reciprocity in Connecticut

Currently, Connecticut does not accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards.