Virginia medical marijuana dispensaries are open as of October, 2020. Recreational dispensaries are scheduled to open in 2024.
Virginia legalized medical marijuana in 2015. However, it was not until the state passed SB 976 in 2020 to finally allow for the creation of a dispensary system. Limited storefronts are now open, though more are expected in 2021, with a total of 30 allowed. Use the map and directories below to find where to buy medical marijuana in Virginia.
Is marijuana legal in Virginia?
Both recreational and medical cannabis are legal in Virginia. Possession, home cultivation and consumption are allowed as of July 1, 2021, while the full bill, including retail sales, is slated to go into effect in 2024. Medical marijuana is permitted under Senate Bill 976.
How can I get my medical marijuana card in Virginia?
In order to obtain a medical marijuana card in Virginia, a person must obtain a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner, complete an application with the VirginiaBoard of Pharmacy, pay a $50 fee, and be approved.
There is no set list of qualifying conditions in Virginia. An approved medical practitioner can recommend cannabis for any condition they feel will benefit from it.
Can patients under 18 register for the medical marijuana program?
Yes, patients of any age can qualify if approved by their physician. Minors must have a legal custodian as their caregiver until they are 18.
Where can I buy medical marijuana in Virginia?
Medical dispensaries are open and operating, check our directories to find a location near you. Recreational cannabis sales are scheduled to begin in 2024.
How much marijuana can I possess at one time in Virginia?
Adults 21 and older may possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis. Medical patients may possess up to a 90-day supply of cannabis. Currently, this limit is set by the recommending physician, however, state regulations dictate that the Board of Pharmacy must establish a maximum limit for what constitutes a 90-supply. This maximum has not yet been set.
Does Virginia accept out-of-state medical marijuana licenses?
No, Virginia does not recognize out of state cards. State regulations also declare that Virginia medical cannabis certifications cannot be used in other states. Hypothetically, this would mean that states offering reciprocity would not be able to extend that allowance to Virginia medical cannabis patients. It is best to call ahead to the dispensary in question and inquire before visiting.
Where can I smoke marijuana in Virginia?
Both medical and recreational marijuana can only be consumed on private property.
Can I get a DUI for using marijuana in Virginia?
Yes. The new law does not allow a person special consideration in operating a vehicle while using or under the influence of medical marijuana.
Can You Grow Cannabis in Virginia?
Yes. Adults 21 and older may grow up to four plants. No more than 4 plants can be grown in a single residence, regardless of how many people live there. Be aware, that there are additional measures that must be taken if you choose to grow at home. Plants must be away from public view, have reasonable security measures to ensure they cannot be accessed by anyone under 21, and must have, "a legible tag that includes the person's name, driver's license or ID number, and a notation that the marijuana plant is being grown for personal use as authorized by law."
Can I possess a gun and use medical marijuana in Virginia?
As with other states with legalized cannabis of any kind, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to possess a gun or ammunition thanks to the federal Gun Control Act of 1968. Although this is a dated initiative, there have been no cases of users being prosecuted for owning a gun and being a medical marijuana patient
Are you of legal age for recreational marijuana or hold a valid medical marijuana card?
Sorry, we're unable to provide access to the website.