Marijuana Dispensaries in Oregon
Recreational marijuana dispensaries are open across Oregon. They can sell marijuana to adults 21+ with valid ID, there are no residency requirements to purchase. Select recreational dispensaries are also allowed to serve medical marijuana patients, and there are three remaining med-only dispensaries in the state. Use the check boxes in the map to sort between medical and recreational dispensaries.
For more information on Oregon marijuana laws, click here.
What is Measure 91?
Measure 91 went into effect on July 1, 2015. The act allows Oregonians 21 years of age or older to grow marijuana (up to 4 plants) and possess defined amounts of recreational marijuana for personal use. Measure 91 also allows the state to tax product, as well as regulate how recreational marijuana is grown and distributed to people who are 21 years old and older. As of January 1st, 2017, licensed retail marijuana facilities are open to the public.
What is Senate Bill 460?
Governor Kate Brown passed Senate Bill 460 in July 2015, allowing medical marijuana dispensaries to sell retail marijuana to people 21 years of age or older with defined rules and regulations. This bill was passed in an effort to make recreational marijuana readily available to adults in Oregon before the official laws and regulations were in effect.
Now that state-licensed recreational dispensaries are up and running, Senate Bill 460 is obsolete and medical marijuana dispensaries are no longer able to sell recreational products. Medical marijuana dispensaries are now solely regulated by the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) while recreational dispensaries are regulated by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC).
OLCC-licensed recreational marijuana dispensaries are able to sell medical-grade marijuana products to OMMP patients at a reduced tax rate.
Is marijuana legal in Oregon?
Yes it is! Both recreational and medical marijuana are available in Oregon. Recreational marijuana was legalized in Oregon as of July 1, 2015, although initially there was no way to legally purchase product unless you were a medical marijuana patient. Thanks to the Senate Bill 460, anyone 21 years old and older with a government issued I.D. could legally purchase marijuana flower, edibles and extracts in OMMP dispensaries across the state.
Now that OLLC-licensed recreational marijuana dispensaries are open, anyone 21 years of age and older with a valid government-issued I.D. is able to purchase recreational marijuana products from any of the various locations.
Where can I buy marijuana in Oregon?
Currently, anyone with a medical marijuana card can purchase medical cannabis from any OMMP medical marijuana dispensary in Oregon. Recreationally, anyone 21 years old and older can purchase up to two ounces of flower, 5 grams of concentrates, one pound of solid-form edibles, 72 ounces of liquid marijuana products, 10 cannabis seeds and 4 clones at an OLLC-licensed recreational marijuana dispensary.
How much marijuana can I have at one time in Oregon?
Oregon defines their possession limits in two categories, public and private. The only difference between the public and private limits is the amount of flower you are allowed to possess. At home, you may possess up to 8 ounces of flower, while in public you are only allowed to possess two. For both public and private, you are able to possess up to one ounce of concentrates, one pound of solid-form edibles, 72 ounces of liquid marijuana products, 10 cannabis seeds and 4 cannabis plants.
How can I get a medical marijuana card in Oregon?
To legally qualify for a medical marijuana card in Oregon, you must have a qualifying health condition, and get approved by a doctor. Qualifying conditions are:
- A degenerative or pervasive neurological condition=
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces one or more of the following:
- Cachexia (a weight-loss disease that can be caused by HIV or cancer)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including but not limited to seizures caused by epilepsy
- Persistent muscle spasm, including but not limited to spasms caused by multiple sclerosis
In addition to a doctor's note, an online application to the state will be necessary with an application fee of $200.
Can I get a medical marijuana card in Oregon if I’m not a resident?
Yes, you can. Simply visit a state medical marijuana clinic, see a certified doctor and fill out an application to the state. Once you receive your medical marijuana card, you will be able to purchase product at dispensaries throughout Oregon – as well as select other states that offer reciprocity.
However, it should be noted. Oregon does not extend reciprocity to medical patients from out of state.
How do the new recreational marijuana laws impact current medical marijuana laws in Oregon?
Recreational marijuana laws do not affect the medical marijuana laws in Oregon, as they are regulated by two separate bodies (OMMP & OLLC). However, medical patients are now able to purchase medical-grade cannabis from recreational dispensaries at a reduced tax rate. In addition, there are three "med-only" dispensaries in the state.
What type of marijuana products can I buy at a dispensary in Oregon?
There are a variety of products available to purchase including flower, edibles (including baked goods, candy, and drinks), tinctures, topicals, and concentrates.
How much does marijuana in Oregon cost?
Marijuana will be priced differently depending on the type of product you buy (flower, concentrates, topicals, etc.) and where you buy it. There are also differing tax percentages between medical and recreational marijuana products.
Where can I smoke marijuana in Oregon?
Like Colorado and Washington, you can only consume marijuana in private. According to Measure 91, a public place is "a place to which the general public has access and includes, but is not limited to, hallways, lobbies, and other parts of apartment houses and hotels not constituting rooms or apartments designed for actual residence, and highways, streets, schools, places of amusement, parks, playgrounds and premises used in connection with public passenger transportation." This means you cannot smoke in bars or restaurants and because weed is still federally illegal, you cannot consume on Federal or Tribal land in Oregon either.
Are recreational marijuana dispensaries open in Oregon?
Yes they are. As of January 1, 2017, OLLC-licensed recreational marijuana dispensaries are open to adults 21 years of age or older. With the opening of recreational marijuana dispensaries, OMMP medical marijuana dispensaries are no longer allowed to dispense recreational products. Recreational dispensaries may sell medical-grade cannabis to OMMP patients at a reduced tax rate.
Can I grow weed in Oregon?
Yes, you can grow up to 4 plants per residence. Note that this is per actual residence or home and not by individual resident. Medical patients can grow up to 6 plants, with 12 immature plants.
Can I get a DUI if I’m under the influence of marijuana in Oregon?
Yes, you can still get a Driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) if you are operating a vehicle while impaired by marijuana. Always consume in private with discretion.