Marijuana Dispensaries in New Hampshire
Gov. Maggie Hassan signed New Hampshire’s medical marijuana program into law in July of 2013. The state’s first dispensary opened three years later, in April of 2016.
Initial state regulations allowed only four Alternative Treatment Centers (as dispensaries are known in New Hampshire medical program), however the state passed SB 388 in 2018 to allow for more locations dependent on the needs of a region.
Is medical marijuana legal in New Hampshire?
Yes. The state legalized medical marijuana in 2013, with HB573, “An Act relative to the use of marijuana for medicinal purposes.”
Is recreational cannabis legal in New Hampshire?
No. Recreational cannabis is currently illegal in New Hampshire. It was decriminalized in 2017 under New Hampshire House Bill 640. Currently, any person age 18 or older who possesses less than three-quarters of an ounce can fined up to $100 (higher after multiple offenses). The same applies to anyone one 21+ who has a personal-use amount of marijuana-infused products including edibles, drinks, tinctures and ointments. Possession of more than three-quarters of an ounce is a misdemeanor, punishable up to one year in prison, and a fine of no more than $350.
How do I qualify for a medical cannabis license in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire defines several conditions that qualify for the state’s medical marijuana program. Please refer to the New Hampshire legal page under “Qualifying Patients” for a full list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in New Hampshire.
Do I need to be 18 years old to have a medical marijuana license?
No. Minors with qualifying conditions may to apply for the program with a parent or guardian if they meet the following:
Requirements for Minors and Medical Cannabis:
- A custodial parent or legal guardian responsible for health care decisions for the qualifying patient submits a written certification from 2 providers, one of whom shall be a pediatrician.
- The custodial parent or legal guardian completes an application on behalf of the minor.
- The applicant's provider has explained the potential risks and benefits of the therapeutic use of cannabis to the custodial parent or legal guardian with responsibility for health care decisions for the applicant.
- The custodial parent or legal guardian with responsibility for health care decisions for the applicant consents in writing to: Allow the applicant's therapeutic use of cannabis, serve as the applicant's designated caregiver and control the acquisition of the cannabis and the frequency of the therapeutic use of cannabis by the applicant.
Where can I legally buy cannabis in New Hampshire?
As of September 13th of 2021, New Hampshire medical marijuana patients may purchase from any of the state's dispensaries, known as Alternative Treatment Centers. Previously, a qualifying patient was required to register at a single Alternative Treatment Center and was restricted to purchasing only from that location. The requirement was removed with the signing of SB 162.
How much medical cannabis can I buy in New Hampshire?
No more than 2 ounces of usable cannabis directly or through the qualifying patient's designated caregiver during a 10-day period.
Can I grow my own medical cannabis in New Hampshire?
No. The state’s medical marijuana program does not currently allow for patients to cultivate their own cannabis. The state’s House of Representatives has passed SB420, which would allow home cultivation. The bill must now be passed to the Senate, and will then need Governor approval to pass. Both houses have passed similar bills in the past, which lost to a veto by the governor.
Will insurance pay for the cost of my medical cannabis?
No. Health insurance will not help to cover the cost of medical marijuana in New Hampshire.
Can I buy medical cannabis for a friend in New Hampshire?
No. Medical cannabis can only legally be transferred between registered medical marijuana patients and their caregivers, and must be obtained from a registered Alternative Treatment Center. Qualified visiting patients may not receive cannabis from any of these sources.
I’m from out of state; will New Hampshire honor my medical marijuana card?
New Hampshire extends reciprocity to “Visiting Qualified Patients,” with some restrictions. House Bill 605 allows out-of-state registered medical patients to purchase cannabis up to three times in a 12-month period from a New Hampshire Alternative Treatment Center. Aside from these purchasing restrictions, visiting patients are granted the same protections as in-state patients.