Medical dispensaries first opened in Delaware in 2015, known as “compassion centers” within the state. Only Delaware patients qualified and registered with the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program, may purchase cannabis from a compassion center.
The Delaware Medical Marijuana Act, passed in 2011, mandated that each of Delaware’s three counties be equipped with at least one compassion center, which are required by the state to operate as “not-for-profit.”
No, though in 2015, the state decriminalized the possession of up to one ounce.
How do I qualify for a medical cannabis license?
Delaware residents can qualify for a medical cannabis card if they meet the state’s requirements. Please view our legal page under “Qualifying Patients” for more information on qualifying conditions.
Do I need to be 18 years old to have a medical marijuana license?
No, patients under the age of 18 can obtain a medical marijuana license and designate a caregiver to provide them with their treatment.
Where can I legally buy cannabis in Delaware?
To be protected under the Delaware Medical Marijuana Act, patients' medical marijuana be labeled and sold from a state-approved dispensary, known as a compassion center. Where to Buy
How much medical cannabis can I buy?
Patients and designated caregivers can purchase up to three ounces for 14 days. In total, they can purchase a total of six ounces each month.
Can I grow my own medical cannabis?
Home cultivation in Delaware is prohibited. Only state-approved labs can cultivate cannabis in Delaware.
Will insurance pay for the cost of my medical cannabis?
No, insurance providers are not required to cover the costs of your medicine as it is currently a schedule 1 narcotic according to federal law.
Can I buy medical cannabis for a friend in Delaware?
Only as a registered caregiver can purchase cannabis for designated patients. To become a caregiver for a patient in Delaware, you must be at least 21 years old unless you are the parent or legal guardian of the patient. Caregivers must also be free of any felony convictions. If approved, Caregivers can assist up to five patients.
I’m from out of state, will Delaware honor my medical marijuana card?
Out of state licenses are not accepted. Only in-state medical marijuana cards are approved.
Are you of legal age for recreational marijuana or hold a valid medical marijuana card?
Sorry, we're unable to provide access to the website.